text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Wood & Paper


The wood industry is under pressure. Trees are, because of their CO2 intake, critical in reducing the impact of global warming. Sustainable forest management and responsible logging are therefore important ingredients of the global climate policy. FSC (Forest Stewardship Council) and PEFC (Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification) certifications contribute to this. Inevitably, this will increase the cost of timber extraction. Furthermore, these are turbulent times for the paper and cardboard industry, a major wood consumer alongside construction, the furniture industry and the distribution sector (for crates and pallets). 

The demand for paper is decreasing due to growing digitalisation, evidenced by the decreasing print runs of journals and magazines, and the receding volumes of paper mail. In addition, less new wood fibres are required for paper production. Increasingly, the fibres come from alternative sources such as old paper, grass and cotton. On the other hand, the demand for cardboard for packaging purposes is increasing due to the explosive growth in online orders and the associated package delivery. Due to stiff competition – for example, with ‘no delivery costs’ – there is here, too, significant price pressure.

Therefore, machinery and production lines for the wood and paper industry must be efficient and maximally equipped with low-cost standard components. At the same time, there are heavy processes in this industry in terms of mechanical burdens, temperature, moisture and dirt. Components must therefore be robust, and there are high demands placed on servicing and maintenance.

The emphasis on costs and sustainability makes energy saving an important challenge. This means, for example, the deployment of variable-frequency drives in the various installations. Furthermore, energy-efficient LED lighting helps reduce the plant’s total cost of ownership. Of course, there should always be ‘good’ lighting, for occupational health and safety reasons and in a sector such as the graphic industry for visual quality assurance as well. With a detailed lighting plan, there is profit to be gained in both fronts.

The technical value-added distributor can advise on this wide range of technical and economic topics with his know-how. He delivers not only the technology needed for innovation, but also the mechanical and electrotechnical supplies for efficient operation. This partner really hits the nail on the head in this sector.

You might also be interested in this:

Technical Support Desk
Get to know our Technical Support Desk. This is where our product specialists work. Real technicians, with in-depth knowledge of suppliers, industries and applications. They are experienced, provide training and know the practical challenges of machine manufacturers and industrial end users. And in addition to all that, they are there to assist you. Ready to answer your questions. Or help you immediately when needed.
Read further
Industrial Automation
As trendsetter in the field of automation technology, we are the right partner to realize your automation projects. Both for your short-term concerns and for your long-term challenges, we provide extensive and in-depth support.
Read further
  • NEWS
    07.12.2020
    Siemens Sentron
    Keeping an eye on energy consumption offers benefits on numerous levels: In addition to cost savings through optimized consumption, the monitoring of power networks and power quality in infrastructures and industrial plants ensures greater reliability. At the same time, systematic power monitoring raises awareness about actual power consumption and is therefore also an important prerequisite for more energy efficiency. Integrated in open IoT operating systems such as MindSphere, these optimization potentials can be increased even further. With a simple power monitoring system, you’re paving the way for regular energy audits and an operational energy management system in accordance with ISO 50001 and ISO 50003.
    Read more
  • NEWS
    30.11.2020
    Rittal cooling unit blue e+
    The energy performance of Rittal Blue e - the most efficient refrigeration system for control cabinets in the world - could not be improved. However, is has succeeded: the new Blue e+ refrigeration units are significantly more energy-efficient than their predecessor, adding a few more important advantages.
    Read more

You are probably also interested in these product groups:

Explore our competences, services and solutions for your success:

text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Bois et papier


Le secteur du bois subit de fortes pressions. Les arbres sont, du fait de leur absorption du CO2, essentiels dans la réduction de l’impact du réchauffement climatique. La gestion des forêts durables et les abattages responsables sont par conséquent des éléments importants de la politique mondiale pour le climat. Les certifications FSC (Forest Stewardship Council) et PEFC (Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification) y contribuent grandement. Inévitablement, cela augmentera le coût de l’extraction du bois. En outre, c’est une période trouble pour le secteur du papier et du carton, un consommateur de bois majeur aux côtés des industries de la construction, du mobilier et de la distribution (pour les caisses et les palettes). 

La demande de papier est en chute du fait de la numérisation croissante, comme en témoigne la réduction des impressions de journaux et magazines, et les volumes en baisse de courrier papier. D’autre part, moins de fibres de bois neuves sont nécessaires pour la production de papier. De plus en plus, les fibres proviennent de sources alternatives telles que le papier recyclé, l’herbe et le coton. D’un autre côté, la demande de carton à des fins d’emballage est en hausse du fait de la croissance explosive des commandes en ligne et des livraisons conditionnées qui y sont associées. Du fait de la concurrence acharnée, par exemple avec les « livraisons gratuites », il y règne également une pression importante sur les prix.

C’est pourquoi, la machinerie et les lignes de production pour l’industrie du bois et du papier doivent être efficaces et équipées de façon maximale avec des composants standards à faible coût. Dans le même temps, il existe des processus lourds dans cette industrie en termes de charges mécaniques, température, humidité et poussière. Les composants doivent donc être robustes, et l’entretien et la maintenance font l’objet de demandes élevées.

L’accent mis sur les coûts et la durabilité font des économies d’énergie un défi important. Cela se traduit par exemple, par le déploiement de mécanismes d’entraînement à fréquence variable dans les diverses installations. En outre, un éclairage à LED efficace en énergie permet de réduire les coûts de propriété totaux de l’usine. Bien sûr, l’éclairage doit toujours être de bonne qualité, pour des raisons de santé et de sécurité au travail et, dans un secteur tel que l’industrie graphique, pour l’assurance qualité visuelle également. Grâce à un plan d’éclairage détaillé, il est possible de dégager des profits sur ces deux aspects.

Le distributeur technique à valeur ajoutée peut conseiller sur ce vaste éventail de sujets techniques et économiques grâce à son savoir-faire. Il propose non seulement la technologie nécessaire pour l’innovation, mais également les fournitures mécaniques et électrotechniques pour un fonctionnement efficace. Ce partenaire voit vraiment juste dans ce secteur.

Peut-être vous êtes aussi intéressé par ceci

Bureau d'assistance technique
Faites connaissance avec notre bureau d’assistance technique. C’est ici que travaillent les spécialistes produits. De vrais techniciens, avec une connaissance approfondie des fournisseurs, des industries et des applications. Ils sont expérimentés, offrent nos formations et connaissent les défis pratiques des fabricants de machines et des utilisateurs finaux industriels. Et surtout : ils sont là pour vous. Prêts à répondre à vos questions. Ou à vous aider immédiatement lorsque la situation l’exige.
Lire plus
Automatisation industrielle
Le monde de l’automatisation industrielle a-t-il jamais changé aussi rapidement ? L’impact d’Internet des objets continue à frapper, les données sont le nouvel or. Alors que la compétition à venir se prépare, vous vous demandez quelles mesures vous devez prendre. Mais par où commencer ? Vous ne pouvez pas mettre en œuvre une solution juste comme ça. Vous examinez d’abord les faits et le contexte. N’est-ce pas ?
Lire plus
  • NEWS
    12.05.2022
    Yes we can….with Phoenix
    Les fabricants de machines et d'installations qui exportent leurs produits en Amérique du Nord ou qui souhaitent les mettre en circulation dans leur zone d'application sont soumis aux lois et règlements qui y sont applicables. L'une des plus importantes normes spécifiques à l'industrie, en plus du NEC, est la NFPA 79. La norme NFPA 79 est révisée tous les trois ans en fonction du NEC et adopte ses innovations. Traduit avec www.DeepL.com/Translator (version gratuite)
    Lire plus
  • NEWS
    06.05.2022
    Ai-je manqué cet avantage ?
    Des composants familiers dans une nouvelle machine ? Souvent, vous pouvez le faire plus intelligemment ! Le portefeuille de Festo se développe chaque année avec environ 700 nouveaux produits. Cette force innovante se prête extrêmement bien à un prix de revient inférieur. Avec l'itsme factory scan, nous souhaitons vous aider à trouver des applications intelligentes qui correspondent aux points focaux actuels de la construction de machines. Traduit avec www.DeepL.com/Translator (version gratuite)
    Lire plus

Vous êtes probablement également intéressé par ces groupes de produits:

Explorez nos compétences, services et solutions pour votre succès: